www.quadsoftware.com
FAQ  FAQ   Search  Search   Memberlist  Memberlist   Usergroups  Usergroups
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages


Post new topic  Reply to topic
 how to use custom mesh object in tool? « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
imcgames
PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2007 9:23 am    Post subject: how to use custom mesh object in tool? Reply with quote



Joined: 10 Apr 2007
Posts: 14

hi! I'm new to grome and have a question.

I want to place my custom model which is from 3DSMAX in terrain

How can I add my model to Package Browser?

Thx in advance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
greedo
PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2007 1:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 04 Mar 2007
Posts: 41

You have to export it to collada (with colladamax) and locate it in grome.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
makit3d
PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2007 1:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 10 Feb 2007
Posts: 123

Right, collada appears to be quite a capable format so you shouldn't have too many issues with max and Grome.

Here's the link: Collada

Once you do that you can use the object brush to locate the file and simply drag it into your scene. It is quite easy and intuitive once you follow through one time.

I did have small issue with a scene I exported from Max. The scene was comprised of several elements which, in Max, I would considered a single item export. In collada export each item was exported rather than as a scene made up of several objects. Make sense?

Basically, I would have to place each individual object exported from Max and precisely place each on in Grome. Not too difficult in Grome as a rule, but with several objects it can become a slow process.

I have not had the opportunity to see how to solve this. If you are exporting a scene you may want to research this situation.

Have fun!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ALicu
PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2007 2:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 1326

Hello

Yes, COLLADA exporter from Max is a solution. Grome integrates out-of-the-box (with some limitations) with COLLADA format. About the separate objects issue mentioned above, you must make sure you use a single object in max and use submaterials so the COLLADA exporter creates one single object but with multiple materials (textures).

Also, because Grome comes with a SDK, you can make a plugin so your own object (from your own engine) format seamlessly integrates with the Package Browser. Thus you can use your game resources (as they are from the game build) directly in Grome without the need of a intermediary format. Then when you export your map for the final game build you have all the geometry templates in the right paths as they will be in this final build. You can also contact us for customizations to Grome. We can provide custom builds that directly integrates with your engine formats and saves into your game structure.

Regards,
Adrian Licu
Software Engineer - Grome Development
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
makit3d
PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2007 5:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 10 Feb 2007
Posts: 123

That certainly saves me the time to search for the answer.

Thank you, Adrian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
imcgames
PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2007 9:05 am    Post subject: Thank you very much! Reply with quote



Joined: 10 Apr 2007
Posts: 14

Thank you very much!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Based on a template by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group