www.quadsoftware.com
FAQ  FAQ   Search  Search   Memberlist  Memberlist   Usergroups  Usergroups
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages


Post new topic  Reply to topic
 A Question About Heightmaps « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
goranm
PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2013 1:38 am    Post subject: A Question About Heightmaps Reply with quote



Joined: 13 Apr 2013
Posts: 4

Hi, is there a way to use a simple texture projection over a whole zone for heightmaps instead of typing in real world coordinates for each zone?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ALicu
PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2013 10:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 1326

Hi,

Do you want to project a texture over an existing terrain?
If this is the case maybe the best approach is to use geotiff format. This is georeferenced (it has proper real world origin). Then when you import it in Grome, it will be projected based on the georeference origin in Grome. So it will be properly placed and also cut nicely on each terrain zone (if it covers more).

In case you want to create heightmap data (elevation) from a texture, again you can use geotiff. If zones are already created there, they will have their heightmaps modified, if not new zones are created.

Geotiff (for both heightmaps and textures) can be processed in external program (for example Global Mapper).

If you are referring to something else, please provide additional details (maybe screenshots).

Kind Regards,
Adrian L.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
goranm
PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2013 3:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 13 Apr 2013
Posts: 4

Yes, I want to project heightmap over the existing terrain zones which are not geo-referenced.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ALicu
PostPosted: Fri Apr 26, 2013 7:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 1326

Hi,

Best is to still use geotiff files since that exporter is capable to fill the heightmap on existing zones. Another exporter doing that is DTED but you will need to have your terrain in dted format. I think that conversion to geotiff is much more available (Global mapper for example is good program dealing with geotiffs).

You can also try to use raw importer but I think it just creates new zones as it imports. But if you have zones already created and you want to put another heightmap only in some parts, you can import with Raw in new zones somewhere else and then just copy the heightmap (using Heightmap Stamp tool) on top of existing zones. There is also a heightmap clone brush. All are documented in Grome help (at Terrain Editing -> Terrain Modelling: Heightmap Stamp and Heightmap Clone Brush). With heightmap stamp you can even copy parts of the scene and save it in your libraries for later use.

I hope this information helps.

Kind Regards,
Adrian L.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
goranm
PostPosted: Fri Apr 26, 2013 12:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 13 Apr 2013
Posts: 4

Thanks, I'll try with RAW importer. I've tried importing with geotiff, but whatever I do it always leaves some kind of half zone sized flat border on the outmost tiles and because of that I can not synchronize DEM with satellite imagery.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ALicu
PostPosted: Fri Apr 26, 2013 12:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 1326

Hi,

The geotiff importer would create terrain zones based on the current grid and the imported file size. Basically it creates zones for all the current scene grid cells touched by your file. If the outer cells are not completely covered by your file they are left on zero on portions not affected. If you want to get rid of these you can select the outer zones, split them in smaller ones and delete the ones that are now completely flat. Of course you will end up with zones of different sizes but this is the only way to match an arbitrarily sized and placed heightmap.

Also you can create other zones in other parts of the same scene and then use heightmap stamp/clone brush to carry heightmap information from the initial ones to the new ones.

Kind Regards,
Adrian L.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
goranm
PostPosted: Fri Apr 26, 2013 1:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 13 Apr 2013
Posts: 4

Hi, thanks for your answers, I've managed to do a successful import of DEM synchronized with sat images with RAW importer. Awesome!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ALicu
PostPosted: Fri Apr 26, 2013 1:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 1326

Ok, great! Let me know if you need any additional support.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Based on a template by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group