www.quadsoftware.com
FAQ  FAQ   Search  Search   Memberlist  Memberlist   Usergroups  Usergroups
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages


Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Adding "skirts" to exported zones « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
Flexman
PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2012 2:29 pm    Post subject: Adding "skirts" to exported zones Reply with quote



Joined: 25 Oct 2011
Posts: 6
Location: Leeds, UK

I need to pick someone's brains.

When exporting Mesh Layers what would be a good way of adding a 'skirt' around each tile to avoid visible gaps at certain camera angles?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ALicu
PostPosted: Fri May 18, 2012 7:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 1326

Hi,

Are you referring to the case when you export multiple mesh layers per each terrain zone and you want to implement LOD (changing of mesh layers with the distance)? Or do you have a single mesh layer?

If you are using one single set of meshes (a single layer), Grome should create continuous geometry at the zones borders. So you should not see any gaps. Let me know if you see any gaps. Some screenshots of the error and the settings you are using for the Simplify tool would help debug this.

In case you are using multiple layers and change them by distance you can do a little trick so you don't have gaps at the border of two meshes with different resolutions. Graphite, for example, when exporting multiple meshes for the same zone, takes the vertices of the highest resolution mesh and put them in all the other lower res meshes. Because it is doing this for all zones and because the high meshes for all zones are matching at the border, you will have all exported meshes matching in all resolutions. The disadvantage is that you need to add some more vertices for lower resolutions (but you are doing this only for border) and you need to create some new stitching triangles at the border (you can add new triangles in a fan like fashion).

Let me know if this is your case and I can provide more implementation details.

Kind Regards,
Adrian L.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Flexman
PostPosted: Fri May 18, 2012 11:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 25 Oct 2011
Posts: 6
Location: Leeds, UK

Thank you Adrian.

Indeed my question was about exporting multiple mesh layers (for a tread-mill terrain system). Apologies for not making that clear. Thanks for the tip, looks like I might have to had tweak some vertices after all.

I just wondered if there was some neat time-saving trick for doing it, like a super-secret hidden check box that reads "add skirts to mesh" as GROME seems to have everything else Smile On the whole it's not a major issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ALicu
PostPosted: Fri May 18, 2012 11:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 1326

Hi,

I am sorry, there is no simple check option in Grome specifically for that. Some other clients may find another solution.

My implementation is quite simple. Just take the high res mesh, detect the vertices that are at the border and keep them in a list (4 lists actually, one for each border). Then, when you export a lower resolution, check its border vertices against the higher res. For each higher res vertex, if you find it in lower res border, it is fine, you can just go to the next. If you don't find it, you need to insert it in the low res mesh too. Insertion is quite simple. The new vertex will just be between 2 other vertices that are already on the low res border. So you just need to find these two vertices and then find the third one that makes up the triangle at the border. Now that you've inserted a new vertex, just split the triangle in two (and create two triangles in the same plane).

In the end, you will have some fans at the border, where new vertices are inserted.

Kind Regards,
Adrian L.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Based on a template by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group