www.quadsoftware.com
FAQ  FAQ   Search  Search   Memberlist  Memberlist   Usergroups  Usergroups
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages

Grid Decimal Precision « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
makit3d
PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2007 12:09 pm    Post subject: Grid Decimal Precision Reply with quote

This may not be a necessary feature for most other projects, but for me it would help tremendously.

In the Options for Grid Spacing. In my case I have my Tile Dimensions figured out to the third decimal place. This is necessary because of the accuracy with which I need to build the map. When I set the grid spacing I am unable to get that accurate to facilitate creating Zones easily by snapping to the corner of a previously created Zone.

Presently this is critical because I have discovered I can have that amount of inaccuracy in the design. However, if I was a civil engineer looking to create an accurate rendering of a project that would probably be a critical need.

Thanks!
ALicu
PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2007 3:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, making more than 2 decimals available in the grid preferences is an easy task (I will make sure it is present in the next update).

Also, note that you can snap a zone to another (at creation) using snap to existing zones. You don't need to have the zones aligned to grid and thus aligned inbetween. I recommend creating first zone by numeric input (on X, Y and Z controls at creations) for precision and then using snap to this zone for the next neighbor zones.

Also, if precision is very important to you, please be careful what units do you choose for your scenes. For example. If you create a flight simulation game, choose Km because the areas are so vast and you usually don't go into miniaturistic detail. If you create a FPS, go for cm as you need to give much closer detail while your maps are not that big.