www.quadsoftware.com
FAQ  FAQ   Search  Search   Memberlist  Memberlist   Usergroups  Usergroups
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages


Post new topic  Reply to topic
 MaskGen « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
regress
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2012 10:37 pm    Post subject: MaskGen Reply with quote



Joined: 10 Dec 2011
Posts: 3

Could someone provide a step-by-step of exactly how to use the MaskGen tool? When I click "Apply" nothing happens. I'm simply trying to apply one of the presets (MountainsSnow, for example) to two different color layers I've created (both masked textures). Help?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ALicu
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2012 7:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 1326

Hello,

You can find an video example in the procedural texturing tutorial:
http://www.quadsoftware.com/movies/grome/tutorials/procedural_texturing.mov

The UI of the layers is from Grome 2.0 but the way layers are operated in 3.0/3.1 is the same.

Basically you need to first mark your masked texture layers as in use (press the red button next to them). Once they are in use they will appear inside the MaskGen tool UI at the "Layers in use" section. Next, load a tool preset or manually add your own Distribution Masks (by pressing the + button at the upper section). The distribution masks tells you how to distribute the layers mask based on altitude, slope, direction, flowmap etc. Basically you generate the layer mask (where the layer is visible) based on the characteristics of the underneath heightmap.

Now you need to assign the distribution masks to the layers in use. You select one distribution mask with left click on its label or multiple ones with clicks while you hold control key down. Once you have the distributions masks to assign to layers selected, you need to also select a layer from the Layers in use list and press the + button next to it (the one from bellow section). Now you will see the distribution masks underneath that layer. They are assigned to operate on that layer.

In this way you can assign multiple distribution masks at once to one layer and you can also operate to multiple layers at once.

Now you can press Apply button and you will see how your layers masks are affected by the distribution masks. The same can be done to colors (simple color layers, without masks) with ColorGen tool.

The assignment of distributions to layers is not saved to presets since your layers are depending on the scene (some scenes may have or not the layers) while the presets need to be scene independent. They will contain only the distribution masks.

Let me know if you still have problems.

Kind Regards,
Adrian L.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ALicu
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2012 2:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 1326

Oh, and forgot to tell you, in order for in-use layers to appear in the "Layers in use" section you need to have at least one terrain zone selected that contains those layers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Based on a template by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group