www.quadsoftware.com
FAQ  FAQ   Search  Search   Memberlist  Memberlist   Usergroups  Usergroups
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages


Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Gizmo3D support « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
ToolTech
PostPosted: Mon Oct 17, 2011 4:48 pm    Post subject: Gizmo3D support Reply with quote



Joined: 17 Oct 2011
Posts: 7

I would like to add support for Gizmo3D. Whats the best way to start?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ALicu
PostPosted: Mon Oct 17, 2011 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 1326

Hi,

First, you need to see if Grome already supports a format that Gizmo3D also supports. More about Grome formats here:
http://www.quadsoftware.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=348

Most probably Gizmo3D supports Collada, 16bit raw, and maybe BT, DTED and OSG.

With a quick look on Gizmo3D site I see that it is supporting OpenFlight, a format we will support soon.

Another possibility is to use Grome SDK to save directly into Gizmo3D format. When you buy a Grome license it also comes with its SDK, documentation and full source code for all the plugins. We are more than happy to assist you integrating into Gizmo3D.

Kind Regards,
Adrian L.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ToolTech
PostPosted: Mon Oct 17, 2011 9:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 17 Oct 2011
Posts: 7

Do you have any format description?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ALicu
PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2011 7:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 1326

Hello,

The Grome format is very complex. It has lots of things useful only for editing and swapping data to disk. It can also change from one version to another.

Best solutions would be to:
- Use the Grome SDK to write to your format
or
- Use one of the existing formats.
For example, you can use the current text format that Grome can produce which is a very simple to parse formats. Or you can use Collada which is a standard format.

You can get some samples of formats from here:
http://www.quadsoftware.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=416

Kind Regards,
Adrian L.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ToolTech
PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2011 7:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 17 Oct 2011
Posts: 7

exciting ! I am working with huge terrain paged by multiple threads and am interested in combining the editor with rapid mapping data from SBD (Real 3D data generated by airfotos or satellite data.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ToolTech
PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2011 7:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 17 Oct 2011
Posts: 7

actually i think collada isn't that good...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ALicu
PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2011 7:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 1326

Hi,

Collada is good mainly for exchanging models (normal meshes) between modeling packages. It is not designed for terrain. But some of the clients requested terrain saved in collada. It is ok if you are using Grome simplified meshes generated from terrain heightmap.

You can use the text format or you can change the text exporter (which comes with the Grome license) to closely match your needs.

Also, in case you need to use satellite data, Grome supports:
- Georeferenced data and scene origin in various projections
- Import / export of geotiff
- Import of DTED, BT
These are formats usually used with satellite data. If you have other formats you can use converters (for example GlobalMapper).

Grome also support shape files (you can apply terrain effects and textures based on shape files generated from real world data).

I am not familiar with SBD format, can you provide more details?

Kind Regards,
Adrian L.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ToolTech
PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2011 8:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 17 Oct 2011
Posts: 7

SBD stands for Saab Bofors Dynamics wich is a part of Saab where I work. They have developed a way to generate maps from the real world and you can take a look at e.g. [url]http://maps.nokia.com/3D/#|59.327509075|18.055171722|16.2|322.35|58.6|0|7|[/url]

I am working with the 3D Engine Gizmo3D to support these kind of maps in military applications and it would be interesting to use your terrain modeller as a complement of generic terrain and as an editor.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ALicu
PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2011 8:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 1326

Hi,

I see. That application is pretty good. Is the data heightmap based? Does it accepts heightmap from 16 bit raw or png, dted or bt? If not, does it accept external heightmap from any other format than SBD?

About images, what kind of image formats and resolutions does it accept?

I want to figure out the best way to bring Grome heightmap and images into your system. Maybe we can do some tests.

Kind Regards,
Adrian L.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ToolTech
PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2011 9:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 17 Oct 2011
Posts: 7

The data is paged lod meshes with texture data. However in the actual runtime environment we can mix heightmap data with it. I would be happy to do some tests of mixing the terrains as you support proper projections.

It would be great to do a really large terrain db 200-300 GByte terrain with cities and important terrain based on satellite and photos and then stitch it with the grome app to do generic terrain and "enhance" it with multilayer textures etc. to get the micro details better.

You can look at http://www.gizmosdk.se/html/newsthisyear.htm to see what I am trying to accomplish. I think it would be great to have this kind of features in grome as we can see that this type of data is going to be really big in the future.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ALicu
PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2011 9:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 1326

Hi,

That is interesting.

Grome terrain can also be transformed to meshes (simplified meshes, including multiple levels of details). You can also take a mesh and stamp it back on terrain so the terrain follows it shape. Plus, you can swap in and out of memory (to disk) data as you edit it so you are not limited to the size of terrain. Objects are also supported and you can place many of them individually or with a brush.

I can setup a trial version for you if you want to test the application with full functionality. Just let me know (send me an email to: licu at quadsoftware.com).

Kind Regards,
Adrian L.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ToolTech
PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2011 9:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 17 Oct 2011
Posts: 7

That would be really great. So you say that lod based meshes could be editied in your grome app and paged back into a custom format. This is really one of our largest "want to have" right now as our terrains e.g. over africa is around 600 GByte of size...

I will send you an email right away....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ALicu
PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2011 9:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 1326

Yes, you can create mesh layers from heightmaps:

http://www.quadsoftware.com/movies/grome/tutorials/Grome3/MeshLayers.mov

And you can also take a mesh and make the terrain surface follow it:
http://www.quadsoftware.com/movies/grome/tutorials/Grome3/ObjectLevel.mov

You can use procedural methods to create the texture, import it or paint it on multiple layers. Then you can collapse the layers on high rest images:
http://www.quadsoftware.com/movies/grome/tutorials/Grome3/ColorBake.mov

I will be waiting for your email.

Regards,
Adrian L.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Based on a template by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group