www.quadsoftware.com
FAQ  FAQ   Search  Search   Memberlist  Memberlist   Usergroups  Usergroups
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages


Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Normal Map generator. « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
inucasoftware
PostPosted: Wed Aug 31, 2011 5:13 am    Post subject: Normal Map generator. Reply with quote



Joined: 08 Jun 2011
Posts: 18

when use normalmap generator

normalmap had Crack between Zone and Zone.

How To Fix?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ALicu
PostPosted: Wed Aug 31, 2011 6:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 1326

Hi,

This should not happen.
Can you send me a small map that has this problem? I need to know what is the exact problem since we never had this on our maps.

Kind Regards,
Adrian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ALicu
PostPosted: Wed Aug 31, 2011 6:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 1326

Hi,

This should not happen.
Can you send me a small map that has this problem? I need to know what is the exact problem since we never had this on our maps.

Kind Regards,
Adrian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
inucasoftware
PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2011 4:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 08 Jun 2011
Posts: 18



use generator option

NormalMap Button -> From interpolation surface Smoothness -> Gage (Min)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ALicu
PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2011 7:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 1326

Hi,

Did you tried to use the normalmap in your engine?

In Grome the normalmap when rendered as a color layer it is using bilinear filtering which at the border, of course, it gives some seams since normalmap from one zone cannot sample pixels from the neighbor zone normalmap. But inside the lighting you will be sampling normalmap with nearest (point) sampling so it will be continuous. So the seams are not that normalmap is not continuous, but due to the sampling using bilinear filtering.

If you need to sample it with bilinear filtering (for smoothing normalmap for example) even when performing lighting you will need to add a row of pixels (padding) at the border (for each normalmap add the pixels from the neighbors). This can be done only at export, it cannot be done in the editor since it would take too much. Anyway, even without padding the seams in normalmap during lighting are not visible.

Kind Regards,
Adrian L.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Based on a template by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group