www.quadsoftware.com
FAQ  FAQ   Search  Search   Memberlist  Memberlist   Usergroups  Usergroups
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages


Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Grome & UDK « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
Gilgalad
PostPosted: Thu Oct 14, 2010 8:38 am    Post subject: Grome & UDK Reply with quote



Joined: 14 Oct 2010
Posts: 2

Hello,

I am considering to buy GROME however I'd like to use it. I read several posts about exporting from GROME to the UDK but it seemt unclear.

Is it possible ? If yes, can you export *everything* from GROME to the UDK, not only the heightmap but also textures, colors etc ?

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ALicu
PostPosted: Thu Oct 14, 2010 12:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 1326

Hi,

Yes, you can export multiple zones of terrain and layers of colors. You need to make the layer combine shaders in UnrealEd your self but once you make those you can reuse them for later scenes. Grome offers multiple ways to combine layers of textures (add, add through mask, multiply, multiply 2x, multiply though a mask etc). While the tutorial deals only with the most common ones (and you will probably end up using only these anyway) I am pretty sure most of the layers can be emulated in Unreal with proper shading operations. Grome SDK explains the operations of each layers so you can create the proper shading operations in UDK.

I am not sure about objects in Unreal. Grome exporters can save objects positions in simple to parse text files or XML so if you write a simple importer to UDK I think you should be able to have objects in Unreal too.

Current status of the exporter is pretty much functional. Some options are missing but they are not important. We consider this beta since we didn't provide tutorials on the site, but the tutorial made by the users (Jo tutorial for example) is pretty much all you need to know.

Best Regards,
Adrian L.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gilgalad
PostPosted: Thu Oct 14, 2010 1:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 14 Oct 2010
Posts: 2

Ok. Thank you for your answer. Would it be possible to have a very limited version just to have the opportunity to test the exporter ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ALicu
PostPosted: Thu Oct 14, 2010 1:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 1326

Hi,

Please send me an email to licu at quadsoftware.com. I will provide you with further information how to test the exporter.

Best Regards,
Adrian L.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Based on a template by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group