www.quadsoftware.com
FAQ  FAQ   Search  Search   Memberlist  Memberlist   Usergroups  Usergroups
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages


Post new topic  Reply to topic
 adding on zones « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
lostbetween
PostPosted: Wed Aug 05, 2009 8:50 pm    Post subject: adding on zones Reply with quote



Joined: 16 Apr 2009
Posts: 94

I added some zones onto an existing scene and I am having trouble getting them to even up.

http://spooningmoons.com/Becca/Grome/addzoneuneven01.png

heres what it looks like when I enable water

http://spooningmoons.com/Becca/Grome/addzoneuneven02.png

using a smooth brush or smudge is not really working
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ALicu
PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2009 6:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 1328

Hi,

From your screenshots it seems that the zones are neighbors (they have green border, red is rendered when the zones are not neighbors, that is they are not matching in resolution and position at the edges so the stitching cannot be done). So I assume you've used the snap tool to match the new zones to the existing ones.

One reason for the zones not matching even though you've snapped them is that you have multiple layers of heightmaps. One zone may have 2 layers of heightmap assigned while another has only one. The border stitching is made heighmap layer to heightmap layer. So all you need to do is to assign a heightmap layer to the zones missing it.

Let me know if you can fix this yourself or please send me your map and I will investigate.

Regards,
Adrian L.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lostbetween
PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2009 1:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 16 Apr 2009
Posts: 94

do the new zones need as many layers as the old zones?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ALicu
PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2009 1:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 1328

Yes, they need the same number of heightmap layers to make them stitch, because the stitching is made per layer.

Also working with the same number of layers will avoid problems like this:
- consider you have 2 zones, one with 2 layers of heightmap, the other with only one;
- mark all layers in use;
- apply an elevation brush at the border selecting Level to 100 units;
- when applying the brush select "Layer" as Surface Option in the tool. This means that the brush will apply the 100 level to each layer. If you select "Surface" instead of "Layer" the brush would apply the level to the final surface (50 units to one layer and 50 to another in case you have two layers);
- the first zone will have the brush applying to level 200 (100 for one and 100 for the other) while the second one would have level 100 so there will be a difference between the two zones.

To be noted that these layers don't have any impact of the final produced zone as the exporters will collapse them. Also you can collapse them by selecting "Flatten down" or "Merge with previous" in Selection layers tab (right click on the layer).

Regards,
Adrian L.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lostbetween
PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2009 1:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 16 Apr 2009
Posts: 94

Ok, I selected everything and assigned all heightmap layers to all zones. This got rid of the gap, so thats a start. I textured the new zones with sand and raised it a bit but when I enable the water, I still have a line.

http://www.spooningmoons.com/Becca/Grome/addzoneuneven03.png

http://www.spooningmoons.com/Becca/Grome/addzoneuneven04.png

thanks for all your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ALicu
PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2009 2:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 1328

What's the resolution of the water mask? Did you generate it with WaterGen?
Can you send me the map (use my email)?

Regards,
Adrian L.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lostbetween
PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2009 2:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 16 Apr 2009
Posts: 94

oh I think I know what it might be...its the depth attenuation. The water isn't knitting. And assigning the water level to all zones isn't doing the trick. I will send it to you
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lostbetween
PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2009 2:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 16 Apr 2009
Posts: 94

I am having trouble attaching the zipped folder. Do you need the whole thing?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lostbetween
PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2009 2:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 16 Apr 2009
Posts: 94

I don't know if this is relevant, but in the viewer the sand texture under the water doesn't show under the water.

http://spooningmoons.com/Becca/Grome/addzoneuneven05.png
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ALicu
PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2009 2:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 1328

Is the zip folder too big (over 10MB)? If so I will send you the FTP login via email.

About the water in viewer, I need to check on that using your map.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lostbetween
PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2009 2:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 16 Apr 2009
Posts: 94

yeah its bigger than that. I suppose I wouldn't need to send all the zones though. Don't see a way to save selected zones to a new file
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ALicu
PostPosted: Fri Aug 07, 2009 6:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 1328

Just delete some of the zone and select Save As to save under a different name Smile

Regards,
Adrian L.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lostbetween
PostPosted: Fri Aug 07, 2009 12:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 16 Apr 2009
Posts: 94

lol ok so that was two dumb questions for the day.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ALicu
PostPosted: Fri Aug 07, 2009 1:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 1328

Don't worry, I do it all the time too Smile Sometimes the solution is too simple to see.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Based on a template by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group