www.quadsoftware.com
FAQ  FAQ   Search  Search   Memberlist  Memberlist   Usergroups  Usergroups
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages


Post new topic  Reply to topic
 GPF when exporting Large Data Format Terrain into PNG file. « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
Sparticus
PostPosted: Tue Aug 12, 2008 4:10 pm    Post subject: GPF when exporting Large Data Format Terrain into PNG file. Reply with quote



Joined: 09 Apr 2008
Posts: 52

When I export more than two zones using the Large Data Format plug-in into a PNG file Grome crashes.

If I export a single zone's terrain to a PNG file, the file generated is always 100 x 100 pixcels, regardless of what is displayed on the LDF plug-in export form. However, if I export to a .raw file, the correct number of pixcels are output.

I am running version 1.20.22
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ALicu
PostPosted: Tue Aug 12, 2008 4:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 1326

Hi,

I'm assuming you are referring to heightmap export. I've just tested the plugin and it is working fine (in build 1.20.22). I've created two zones of 256 tiles and 10 units per tile and selected a resolution of 10 when exporting the png. The produced png was 512x256 (the correct size).

Can you give me more details? How big are your zones? How many? What resolution and what tile size? What resolution did you choose at export?

Did you installed grome on an old build or on fresh install?

Thank you,
Adrian L.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sparticus
PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2008 3:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 09 Apr 2008
Posts: 52

The problem I saw with the heightmap output size is occurs when the three resolution edit boxes have different values and the terrain checkboxes are not selected (implying that their resolution values will not effect the export). Now that I know the cause, I can work around this issue.

The Grome terrain zones being exported are each 1000 x 1000 pixcels. The GPFs occur when 3 more more zones are output. I have tried various resolutions including 0.976, 1, 1.95, 2, 5, and 10. Swapping is enabled for the export and my machine has 3GB of memory. I did NOT do a fresh install of the 1.20.22 release.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ALicu
PostPosted: Tue Aug 19, 2008 2:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 1326

Hello,

So, just to be sure I got all the details right, you have multiple zones, each zone heightmap is exported as a 1000 by 1000 pixels PNG image. The exporter crashes when you export more than 3 zones. Is this correct?

What is the size of your terrain tile and how many tiles do you have per zone?

Can you send me a screenshot of the exporter UI with the options you've used to crash it? Also can you send me the crash report? Thank you.

Regards,
Adrian L.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Based on a template by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group