www.quadsoftware.com
FAQ  FAQ   Search  Search   Memberlist  Memberlist   Usergroups  Usergroups
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages


Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Tutorials!! « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
Hornsj2
PostPosted: Tue Mar 25, 2008 7:06 pm    Post subject: Tutorials!! Reply with quote



Joined: 24 Mar 2008
Posts: 16

Is there a way to pause or slow down the tutorials? It looks like the person running the tutorial was having a competition to see how fast he could complete his task. I CONSTANTLY have to restart the tutorial in order to observe each part of it and then apply that in my own environment.

If there is a way PLEASE tell me so I don't have to constantly restart the movie from the beginning.

I have tried it in Firefox and Internet explorer, with Quicktime being the media player.


HornsJ2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ALicu
PostPosted: Tue Mar 25, 2008 7:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 1326

Hi,

You can pause the movies any time by pressing the small > sign in the bottom left part.

You can also use these direct links and download the mov files with a download manager:

http://www.quadsoftware.com/movies/grome1/creating_zones1.mov
http://www.quadsoftware.com/movies/grome1/creating_zones2.mov
http://www.quadsoftware.com/movies/grome1/creating_zones3.mov
http://www.quadsoftware.com/movies/grome1/features_layers.mov
http://www.quadsoftware.com/movies/grome1/features_obj.mov
http://www.quadsoftware.com/movies/grome1/features_terrain_creation.mov
http://www.quadsoftware.com/movies/grome1/features_zone_creation.mov
http://www.quadsoftware.com/movies/grome1/flightsim01.mov
http://www.quadsoftware.com/movies/grome1/flightsim02.mov
http://www.quadsoftware.com/movies/grome1/flightsim03.mov
http://www.quadsoftware.com/movies/grome1/heightmap_layers.mov
http://www.quadsoftware.com/movies/grome1/hydraulic_mountains.mov
http://www.quadsoftware.com/movies/grome1/obj_creation.mov
http://www.quadsoftware.com/movies/grome1/obj_transformation.mov
http://www.quadsoftware.com/movies/grome1/procedural_dunes.mov
http://www.quadsoftware.com/movies/grome1/procedural_texturing.mov
http://www.quadsoftware.com/movies/grome1/selection_layers.mov
http://www.quadsoftware.com/movies/grome1/thermal_dunes.mov
http://www.quadsoftware.com/movies/grome1/thermal_mountains.mov

Regards,
Adrian L.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hornsj2
PostPosted: Tue Mar 25, 2008 7:32 pm    Post subject: Great, Thank You Reply with quote



Joined: 24 Mar 2008
Posts: 16

I have a black bar down where you say the > is but I clicked there anyway and it paused. I must have my QuickTime player configured incorrectly.

Much Appreciated,

Hornsj2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaxDmg
PostPosted: Fri Dec 19, 2008 7:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 29 Nov 2008
Posts: 10

Is there any of these that are for the NEW version of Grome?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ALicu
PostPosted: Sat Dec 20, 2008 9:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 1326

All the above movies are for version 1.0, 1.1 and 1.2. Upcoming versions will add their own movies.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaxDmg
PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2008 6:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 29 Nov 2008
Posts: 10

Hope to see some 1.3 movies soon, as it is hard to follow when the menus
and other options are not the same as the ones in the video.

I tried for several times to do a step by step height map import
with no success.

Any help in pointing me in the right direction would be extremely
helpful.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ALicu
PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2008 9:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 1326

The tools and menus are pretty much unchanged. New versions add on top of old ones (new parameters, plugins, tools etc). Let me know the exact steps you are trying to reproduce and I will try to guide you.

Also, best to view the tutorials, is to download them and pause them from time to time when you feel they are going too quick. Also make sure you understand the layering concepts Grome is using before using the tools.

Don't hesitate to ask me any questions by forum or email.

Regards,
Adrian L.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaxDmg
PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2008 9:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 29 Nov 2008
Posts: 10

Many thanks, I did download the Height map one and had trouble just
getting my 1.3 version to match the videos steps. Needless to say I was
unable to complete any thing past the 18-19sec mark on the video.

My screen looked similar but did not have the same things on it and
soon after that you can not continue as you are not in sync compared
to what ever version he/she was using vs the 1.3 Pro I am using.

Basicly I am just trying to be able to load in a black and white jpg
(really shades of grey )of some mountains and use that height map
to create a terrain map.

Can Grome do this? Or am I going about it the wrong way?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ALicu
PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2008 9:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 1326

Hi,

If you are referring to the possibility to load a jpeg file as a heightmap, I don't think any of the default import plugins can load heightmaps from jpeg. What format is the jpeg? Default 8 bit grayscale? In this case, on thing to be noticed is that the 8 bit is really too low precision for most heightmaps. I recommend using 16bit RAW (or BT, DTED) to import the heightmaps. In case your previous data is 8bit is jpeg and you really need to use that, transform the file into RAW or BMP first. The RAW you can import with the RAW importer while the BMP with the quick import tool.

What import method are you trying to use? If you are using the quick import tool, please transform your jpeg to bmp first. Also, 1.3 has the heightmap importer tool (HMapImport) which imports (again 8 bit greyscale BMP) on existing terrain. Maybe you've used this tool instead of QuickImport. The HMapImport must have zones already created and you import on top of them while QuickImport creates the zones while importing. Both tools are described in the Grome help.

I also recommend using the plugins (BT, RAW, DTED). This allows for much greater precision. But, if you need just a quick starting heightmap to import and add detail to it in Grome, then Quick Import can be used.

Let me know the exact tools and options you are using. Screenshots may help.

Regards,
Adrian L.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaxDmg
PostPosted: Wed Dec 24, 2008 7:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 29 Nov 2008
Posts: 10

I have a JPG and BMP images that are height maps.

That I was told you could load and that Grome would read it and create
a terrain out of it. If I am mistaken and or I have been miss-informed
can you tell me how to take my images and use them to generate my
height map.

If there is an even easier way to generate a terrain that we can follow
along with please do point us in the direction. We are trying to get this
working for our Visual3d.net community.

Many thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ALicu
PostPosted: Thu Dec 25, 2008 9:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 1326

Hi,

Yes, Grome can easily place 8bit BMP files as heightmaps in the scene (using either QuickImport or HmapImport). Please send the sample data you are trying to import and I will have a look at it and try to prepare some step by step instructions (I've sent you an email with a FTP account login info).

Regards,
Adrian L.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lostbetween
PostPosted: Thu Jun 04, 2009 12:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 16 Apr 2009
Posts: 94

How do you download these?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ALicu
PostPosted: Thu Jun 04, 2009 6:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 1326

In Firefox, right click on the link and select Save Target... Internet Explorer should have a similar command in the context menu.

Regards,
Adrian L.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Soth3d
PostPosted: Tue Sep 29, 2009 10:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 17 Feb 2009
Posts: 6

Links are broken, here you have good ones:
http://www.quadsoftware.com/movies/grome/tutorials/creating_zones1.mov
http://www.quadsoftware.com/movies/grome/tutorials/creating_zones2.mov
http://www.quadsoftware.com/movies/grome/tutorials/creating_zones3.mov
http://www.quadsoftware.com/movies/grome/tutorials/features_layers.mov
http://www.quadsoftware.com/movies/grome/tutorials/features_obj.mov
http://www.quadsoftware.com/movies/grome/tutorials/features_terrain_creation.mov
http://www.quadsoftware.com/movies/grome/tutorials/features_zone_creation.mov
http://www.quadsoftware.com/movies/grome/tutorials/flightsim01.mov
http://www.quadsoftware.com/movies/grome/tutorials/flightsim02.mov
http://www.quadsoftware.com/movies/grome/tutorials/flightsim03.mov
http://www.quadsoftware.com/movies/grome/tutorials/heightmap_layers.mov
http://www.quadsoftware.com/movies/grome/tutorials/hydraulic_mountains.mov
http://www.quadsoftware.com/movies/grome/tutorials/obj_creation.mov
http://www.quadsoftware.com/movies/grome/tutorials/obj_transformation.mov
http://www.quadsoftware.com/movies/grome/tutorials/procedural_dunes.mov
http://www.quadsoftware.com/movies/grome/tutorials/procedural_texturing.mov
http://www.quadsoftware.com/movies/grome/tutorials/selection_layers.mov
http://www.quadsoftware.com/movies/grome/tutorials/thermal_dunes.mov
http://www.quadsoftware.com/movies/grome/tutorials/thermal_mountains.mov
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ALicu
PostPosted: Tue Sep 29, 2009 10:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 1326

Oh, yes, you are right. We've changed the site structure and some paths changed. All the video tutorials can now be accessed from http page:
http://www.quadsoftware.com/index.php?m=section&sec=product&subsec=editor&target=Editor/tutorials_index
Thanks for pointing that out.

Regards,
Adrian L.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Based on a template by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group