www.quadsoftware.com
FAQ  FAQ   Search  Search   Memberlist  Memberlist   Usergroups  Usergroups
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages


Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Not all textures showing up « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
ldemarinis
PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2008 8:22 pm    Post subject: Not all textures showing up Reply with quote



Joined: 04 Mar 2008
Posts: 21

I am having a problem that seems to be linked to my opacity map. Simply, not all of my textures are appearing on my Atlas terrain.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ALicu
PostPosted: Tue Mar 18, 2008 7:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 1326

Hello, how many layers are you using? Also what parameters are you using for tree depth and how big is the terrain? Can you sent me the opacity mask? Best would be to look with a image program to see if it is right (it should have a combination of Red Green Blue and Alpha channels indicating the masks you were creating in Grome, but normalized).

Regards,
Adrian L.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ldemarinis
PostPosted: Tue Mar 18, 2008 2:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 04 Mar 2008
Posts: 21

Adrian,


I have it working but I just did the opacity map work myself in photoshop. The tree depth that i am using is typically four and the size of the terrain is 4x4 zone map with a 1025x1025 heightmap.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ALicu
PostPosted: Tue Mar 18, 2008 5:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 1326

Hi, what was the problem? Was it caused by the exporter?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ldemarinis
PostPosted: Tue Mar 18, 2008 5:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 04 Mar 2008
Posts: 21

Well it seemed that the alpha maps were just incorrect. The base texture wasnt there at all, and the maps were inverted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ALicu
PostPosted: Tue Mar 18, 2008 5:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 1326

Do you have the latest version of the exporter? 1.1 (posted on 03/13/2008)
There was a bug that caused similar results but was fixed.
I need to know if there is a bug in the new version so I can fix it. Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ldemarinis
PostPosted: Tue Mar 18, 2008 6:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 04 Mar 2008
Posts: 21

No, I do not have that exporter. I will make sure I get that. Thanks, and I will let you know if that solves the problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ldemarinis
PostPosted: Tue Mar 18, 2008 8:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 04 Mar 2008
Posts: 21

That seemed to fix the problem. Thanks a bunch!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ALicu
PostPosted: Tue Mar 18, 2008 8:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 1326

Another thing to notice is that this bug was happening when the sampling step (the step used to get scene data) was different than the scene resolution you are editing (tile size for heightmaps and pixels number for images is different than the outputted ones). The exporter allows this (it is pretty versatile so you can work with layers with different resolution for example, even though this case Torque cannot handle for now).

So be aware that this means that you are exporting at a different resolution than the one you are working with inside Grome. This means that you either work at a greater resolution in Grome and you loose detail at export or you edit at a lower resolution and include much more data at export than necessary.

Let me know your heightmap size, mask and color sizes and I can point the best exporting sampling steps.

Regards,
Adrian L.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Based on a template by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group