www.quadsoftware.com
FAQ  FAQ   Search  Search   Memberlist  Memberlist   Usergroups  Usergroups
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages


Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Export of heightmaps « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
mkolb
PostPosted: Fri Aug 24, 2007 9:58 am    Post subject: Export of heightmaps Reply with quote



Joined: 21 Aug 2007
Posts: 12

is there a way to export heightmaps in Grome without a plugin?
I don't care at once which format it is, but it should be 16bit.
Thanks in advance!
Regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ALicu
PostPosted: Fri Aug 24, 2007 11:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 1326

Why you want to export without a plugin?

The Simple Text Exporter plugin (which comes with Grome) can export 16 bit RAW or PNG. Just check Export Heightmap as 16 bit raw/png and press Options for more details. Refer to plugin documentation for details (press Help button in plugin UI).

We may also include heightmap export as separate plugin but it was an easy addition to the text exporter and you also get information about the heightmaps in the text file (zone names, dimensions etc).

Regards
Adrian L.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mkolb
PostPosted: Mon Aug 27, 2007 5:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 21 Aug 2007
Posts: 12

Sorry,
I may have overlooked that.
I tried the export and couldn't make a clue out of the terrain heightmap which was exported. I tried to load it in Photoshop who made strange suggestions about the size, although I wanted a terrain heightmap with 512x512 px. Therefore I chose a tile number of 512. If I force photoshop to import it as a 512x512 raw picture there occurs some wrapping.
How can I export a heightmap which fits to the tile size?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ALicu
PostPosted: Mon Aug 27, 2007 6:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 1326

Hi,

There are two methods to export the heightmap there:

- create a raw for each zone in the scene

- create a single, big raw, for all the scenes combined

As stated in the exporter documentation, for the first method the exporter will use a 14 byte header (this is a setting in DevIL library we are using for images). So when importing in Photoshop, indicate a 14 bytes header, 16 bit, 1 channel. For the second method, because we are constructing the image directly in the exporter, there is no header.

To be noted that heightmaps are per vertex (not per tile), so that's why you get 513 x 513 export (and not 512). You can try and rescale the image to 512 in other programs if you like. But you must also notice that importing must also be done with 513 px images (1 height information for every vertex). This is the normal behavior for raw exporting / importing found in most applications.

Regards,
Adrian L.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mkolb
PostPosted: Mon Aug 27, 2007 6:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 21 Aug 2007
Posts: 12

Thank you very much
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Based on a template by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group