www.quadsoftware.com
FAQ  FAQ   Search  Search   Memberlist  Memberlist   Usergroups  Usergroups
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages


Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Single Texture to Mutiple Terrain Zones « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
shashank
PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2015 12:04 pm    Post subject: Single Texture to Mutiple Terrain Zones Reply with quote



Joined: 01 Sep 2015
Posts: 2

I am new to Grome and finding ways to achieve a specific result in Grome.
I want to assign a satellite imagery of an area onto multiple terrain zone.
I have already created the zones and divided them as per my need.
But when i assign the material layer to these zones and put texture, the texture is applied in each zone instead of all the zones together.
Please guide me how i can Assign a Single texture to Multiple Terrain Zones as a Single Image.
Regards
Shashank
[img]https://www.dropbox.com/s/i87khspp8vyv6kp/Grome.png?dl=0[/img]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ALicu
PostPosted: Wed Sep 02, 2015 10:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 1326

Hi,

For this task one way is to use one of the image importers. For example, the geotiff importer (from main menu File -> Import and choose GeoTIFF Terrain Import plug-in). From the plugin you can select how many zones to create (if not already created), the import resolution etc. The disadvantage of this method is that you need to convert your image into proper GeoTIFF satellite image that needs to contain georeference (real world lat / long position, projection type etc) in external programs (like Global Mapper). Grome will create / or apply the image into existing zones based on this georeference.

So maybe a simpler method would be to create a single terrain zone at first (with any resolution, but too big, for example 512x512 vertices) with proper position and size. Create your material layer and assign the image to it. Then split the zone into multiple ones (using Zones -> Splitter tool). The layer is split too. Then select all the zones and increase their resolution as needed (using Heightmap Resample tool) so each have now proper working size.

I hope this helps.

Kind Regards,
Adrian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shashank
PostPosted: Wed Sep 02, 2015 10:35 am    Post subject: Single Texture to Mutiple Terrain Zones Reply with quote



Joined: 01 Sep 2015
Posts: 2

Thanx Adrian for the reply.
Doing it by GeoTIFF Terrain Import plug-in will be a little pain, I think the 2nd way you specified is much easier. I will try that. Very Happy
Regards,
Shashank
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Based on a template by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group