www.quadsoftware.com
FAQ  FAQ   Search  Search   Memberlist  Memberlist   Usergroups  Usergroups
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages


Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Working with DEMs? « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
lmlange
PostPosted: Tue Aug 27, 2013 9:36 am    Post subject: Working with DEMs? Reply with quote



Joined: 09 Jul 2013
Posts: 3

Hi

I just started to Work with DEMs and trying to import them into Grome.

Im getting GeoTiff from: http://srtm.csi.cgiar.org/SELECTION/inputCoord.asp

But when i try import it....grome start to hang after it says "Terrain zones created".

Cant Grome handle that size of files? any suggestion how to import DEMs?

Regard
Lennart


Last edited by lmlange on Tue Aug 27, 2013 8:04 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ALicu
PostPosted: Tue Aug 27, 2013 12:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 1326

Hello,

Please post the exact parameters you are using for the importer (a list of them or just a screenshot of the importer UI).
One thing I can suspect is that the importer is trying to create one continuous terrain zone which is too big.

Also, the link you've posted seem to be broken. Can you provide some sample file you are using?

Kind Regards,
Adrian L.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lmlange
PostPosted: Tue Aug 27, 2013 8:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 09 Jul 2013
Posts: 3

Hi

I have updated the link, should be working now.

Params:

FileType: GeoTiff Terrain Import plugin(*.tif)

Terrain:
Create terrain zones: checked
Tiles per zone: 256

Scene zone size: checked

Upload imported zones: checked

Texture
Pixels per zone: 1024
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ALicu
PostPosted: Wed Aug 28, 2013 7:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 1326

Hi,

Your settings seem ok. You should have the zones created and then send to swap so memory should not be an issue.

How big is the area you are trying to import? I've tried to get some data from that server but it asks me an user and password. Can you send me a sample file you are trying to import (you can use my email: licu at quadsoftware.com)?

Thank you,
Adrian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ALicu
PostPosted: Thu Aug 29, 2013 9:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 1326

Hi,

So after reviewing your data, we've found out that the importer was actually working but it was importing huge amounts of data (importing a 5 x 5 degree map with 1 meter per pixel) so it took considerable time (and disk space) to import the scene.

So in order to have it work faster, you can try to import at a lower resolution (since the data source is not at that resolution anyway) and you can increase it further in Grome, later, if needed.

Basically, you can leave the scene units to 1 meter (the default value). Next at the importer, check "Custom Zone Size" and choose a greater value (than the default value).
For example, if you have "Tiles per zone" 256 (so you have a resolution of 256 x 256 per terrain zone), and you indicate a "Custom zone size" of 25600 (so almost 2.5 km x 2.5 km), you basically have 100 meter between 2 vertices.
I've tried with a custom zone size of 102400 and it imported correctly at a resolution of 400 meters per pixel.

Kind Regards,
Adrian L.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lmlange
PostPosted: Fri Aug 30, 2013 8:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 09 Jul 2013
Posts: 3

Hi Adrian

Thx alot for your help here and on mail. really helped alot.

I can now go ahead with my strm90 files, looking forward to have something to show in the near future Smile.

Iam using "Custom zone size" to 23040 for 90m resolution.

Lennart
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Based on a template by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group