www.quadsoftware.com
FAQ  FAQ   Search  Search   Memberlist  Memberlist   Usergroups  Usergroups
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages


Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Can we export a river as a mesh? « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
FranticAU
PostPosted: Fri Apr 08, 2011 3:57 am    Post subject: Can we export a river as a mesh? Reply with quote



Joined: 14 Mar 2011
Posts: 24

Can you export a created river as a mesh file, ideally for 3Dmax?

This is so we can then export from 3dMax into our game engine and layer a flowing river into the newly created terrain?

If possible would be to have both an entire map/zone river mesh and also the option for a terrain zone section eg “Create river mesh per zone”
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ALicu
PostPosted: Fri Apr 08, 2011 6:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 1328

Hi,

There is no option for that in the Grome UI. But you can do it using the Grome SDK. For example, in Grome UI, you now have a tool (Shoreline) to automatically detect the contour of the river. You can easily tessellate this during export (you have access to shoreline points in the SDK).

Anyway, this is a great idea to have inside Grome as well and I will make sure we add this in the to-do list.

Best Regards,
Adrian L.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FranticAU
PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2011 12:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 14 Mar 2011
Posts: 24

Any eta plz plz

great idea to have inside Grome as well and I will make sure we add this in the to-do list.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ALicu
PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2011 8:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 1328

Hello,

You can easily do this with the SDK. Just apply a simple triangulation on the shoreline polygons. Or just export the shorline into a format that, for example, 3DS can read as a polygon and apply a triangulation algorithm. I cannot give you an exact ETA since there are many important features in the to-do list which are showstoppers or don't have workarounds or solutions as this one.

Kind Regards,
Adrian L.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Based on a template by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group