www.quadsoftware.com
FAQ  FAQ   Search  Search   Memberlist  Memberlist   Usergroups  Usergroups
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages


Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Texture exported for 3Dsmax (beginner question) « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
Olivierleroy
PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2011 8:09 pm    Post subject: Texture exported for 3Dsmax (beginner question) Reply with quote



Joined: 18 Dec 2010
Posts: 2

Hello everyone, I just had grome and I test it, it's really a good logicial.
My main problem is about the textures. I've made a map in Grome and I exported this for 3Dsmax.
The model is correct, no problem at the export, but I've a problem for the texture. 3Dsmax don't understand them. So I've tried many things and export, but when I export in PNG format, the land texture have deformations. I tried to make many unwrap in 3Dsmax but that don't works well.
Have you any information, solutions or tutorials for this?

(Thanks to read/respond me, and I'm sorry because my english is not so good, I'm french.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ALicu
PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 1326

Hi,

Can you post more info of your problem? Please post information and screenshots about:
- Your scene in Grome (how many layers of textures, what types of layers (shading)).
- What exporter are you using and with what options?
- Screenshots of your scene imported in 3DS Max (to see how your deformation issue looks).

One way to export for 3DS Max is to use the Collada exporter. But in Collada you cannot represent multiple layers of terrain textures. So you can collapse your layers into one single image (but you loose some resolution). General exporter can do that for you or if you are using Grome SDK to create your own export you can use iTerrainZone::Snapshot function.

Another way to export is the General exporter, save the heightmap as RAW and import it (using another importer) in 3DS Max.

For texturing, you can try to use multiple layers of textures but you will need to create special materials in 3DS Max to represent them. One such material is the Composite material (but it is able to represent only Masked Texture Grome layers). Another solution is a DirectX FX material but you need to have knowledge about shaders.

Regards,
Adrian L.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Olivierleroy
PostPosted: Sun Jan 09, 2011 4:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 18 Dec 2010
Posts: 2

Hi,

- layers of texture = 5 (two for rocks, two for ground and one for snow)
'masked texture' for all

- I've choosed the 'collada exporter' and '3DSmax' with all case ticked

-here the screenshot of Grome and 3Dsmax:

http://img262.imageshack.us/img262/8185/59655535.jpg
http://img84.imageshack.us/img84/7224/97991723.jpg
http://img249.imageshack.us/img249/7141/65707843.jpg

I will test your technics soon.

Thanks for your answer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ALicu
PostPosted: Mon Jan 10, 2011 7:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 1326

I see.

So you basically baked the texture into a single image?

It seems that the only problem with this approach is that the texture appears rotated. Is this correct?

Also, did you fixed it by applying rotation around w in 3DS Max?

Can you also try to see if another COLLADA viewer sees the texture correct?

I will do some tests myself now and see what happens.

Regards,
Adrian L.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Based on a template by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group