www.quadsoftware.com
FAQ  FAQ   Search  Search   Memberlist  Memberlist   Usergroups  Usergroups
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages


Post new topic  Reply to topic
 brush setting « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
lostbetween
PostPosted: Sun Aug 16, 2009 10:16 pm    Post subject: brush setting Reply with quote



Joined: 16 Apr 2009
Posts: 94

what dumb thing is wrong on my settings so that I have a fuzzy edge on my road?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lostbetween
PostPosted: Mon Aug 17, 2009 1:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 16 Apr 2009
Posts: 94

ha ha my medieval town went industrial!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ALicu
PostPosted: Mon Aug 17, 2009 7:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 1328

Hi,

Quote:
what dumb thing is wrong on my settings so that I have a fuzzy edge on my road?


I think there is nothing wrong with your brush settings (you've used maximum strength and no smoothness) so in theory you should get sharp edges for the masked texture.

But, the texture mask is applied using bilinear filtering inside Grome (so it looks smooth for most cases). This means that you always get a small "fuzzy edge" of exactly one pixel size. So a solution would be to increase the resolution of the mask to decrease the fuzzy border size (but it will still be there).

Another solution would be for us to introduce a new material in Grome to allow for non-bilinear (that is point) filtering. But this will make the mask look blocky (pixelated), with jagged edges.

Maybe the best solution is to just ignore this in Grome and when exporting to your engine to apply the appropriate shader.

Regards,
Adrian L.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lostbetween
PostPosted: Mon Aug 17, 2009 2:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 16 Apr 2009
Posts: 94

cool, thanks. Its good to understand whats making it behave that way. So as a rule, for details like this, should I use higher resolution textures when in a higher resolution zone?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ARudd
PostPosted: Tue Aug 18, 2009 12:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 30 Mar 2009
Posts: 52

Actually, nearest neighbor or blocky mask setting would be handy for things like farms, or plots of land.

Better still would be the ability to import and interpret vector content Very Happy
Are there plans for AI or SVG support in the future?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ALicu
PostPosted: Tue Aug 18, 2009 9:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 1328

Yes, we can add a near-filter mask layer in the next build.

As for vector content, for now only shape files are used for : selection layers and when applying various distribution masks. We want to extend this concept in the future, both imported vector content (like standard shape files) and created in Grome (via some sort of splines, vectors, segments). We want to make this vector markers to be used for all sorts of tools, both for heightmap and texturing. Of course there is a lot of work in this area and I cannot promise a certain date, but we most certainly considering it.

Regards,
Adrian L.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Based on a template by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group