www.quadsoftware.com
FAQ  FAQ   Search  Search   Memberlist  Memberlist   Usergroups  Usergroups
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages


Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Workspace Materials « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
Sparticus
PostPosted: Mon Jun 23, 2008 5:30 am    Post subject: Workspace Materials Reply with quote



Joined: 09 Apr 2008
Posts: 52

I am trying to understand if there is a way to organize the materials for a workspace better. It would appear, that if you can only open 4 zones at a time because of memory and you apply 10 materials per zone....if you were going to create, say 100 zones, you would end up with 250 materials. This is a rather large number to scroll through and keep track of. There doesn't appear to be a way to take a material you have used assigned to a different zone and use it for a new zone....so if you have the same material across all 100 zones you have to recreate it for every 4 zones....

I am hoping I am just missing something... Let me know what your thoughts are.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ALicu
PostPosted: Tue Jun 24, 2008 8:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 1328

Hi,

You can easily assign existing layers (that is: what textures are using, with what tiling, offset, what mask size etc) to newly created zones. For example, you already have 4 zones with some layers assigned to them: mud and snow. You now create 2 other zones. You want to quickly assign mud and snow to them (without manually assigning layers, selecting texture, filling the same parameters). For this first select the two newly created zones and then go to the Project tab, go to the mud layer, expand it so the mud texture thumb appears. Then press the > (right orientated triangle). Then select "Fill selection". This will assign the mud layer (with its mud texture, parameters, mask size etc) to the selected zones. Do the same thing for snow layer. So with this you can easily pick an existent assigned layer from the global project view and duplicate it to the selected zones. Also, you will notice that the newly duplicated layers have completely blank masks so the layers appear transparent. Next you need to paint or generate the mask content (which differs from one zone to another so this layer duplication didn't copy the mask since there is no point in doing that).

Also, to be noted, that in the next version, the scripting was extended so you can create a script that does layer assignment. So you can easily create a simple script to add the layers, assign their textures and parameters and call it for the selected zones whenever you wish.

Hope this helps,

Adrian L.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sparticus
PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2008 6:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote



Joined: 09 Apr 2008
Posts: 52

Very Happy This was very helpful. Took a little tinkering to understand how to use it properly, but works very nice !!

Thanks much Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Based on a template by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group